Author discovery of the year

I read a fair number of books by authors I’d read before in 2014, but I managed to squeeze in a few new ones. The winner of the big prize is Douglas Preston, for his wonderful book Blasphemy. Runner ups are Peter F. Hamilton for The Reality Dysfunction, Carrie Vaughn for After the Golden Age, and Christopher Moore for Lamb. One more runner up is William Goldman for The Princess Bride.

Here are all the winners and runner ups…

Year Winner Runner ups
2014 Douglas Preston Peter F. Hamilton Carrie Vaughn Christopher Moore
2013 Iain M. Banks Sarah Zettel Michael Swanwick Jo Walton
2012 Alastair Reynolds Joanne Bertin Ken Grimwood Gregory Maguire
2011 Robin Hobb Audrey Niffenegger Richard Adams George R. R. Martin
2010 Clifford D. Simak Yves Meynard Tim Powers Harry Harrison
2009 Dan Simmons Peter S. Beagle Ray Bradbury
2008 Connie Willis David Mack Jeanne Cavelos John Scalzi
2007 Vernor Vinge James Morrow
2006 Edward Willett Elizabeth Kostova
2005 Stephen Baxter Sean Russell Christopher L. Bennett
2004 Karin Lowachee Peter Watts Adam Roberts Jasper Fforde
2003 Neal Stephenson Ted Chiang Stanislaw Lem Candas Jane Dorsey
2002 Karl Schroeder
2001 Jim Munroe Nalo Hopkinson
2000 Charles de Lint J. Gregory Keyes Kurt Vonnegut Josepha Sherman
& Susan Shwartz
1999 Robert Charles Wilson Kim Stanley Robinson L. Sprague de Camp

This entry was posted on Tuesday, January 6th, 2015 at 8:09 pm and is filed under My thoughts. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

One Response to “Author discovery of the year”

  1. James Says:

    Cool list! For me, the last year or so has been Carrie Vaughn and Jacqueline Carey. Now I’m reading the two Ann Leckie books, and they are great.

Leave a Reply