Author discovery of the year

As usual this year I read some authors I was familiar with and some new to me. Of the ones that were new to me, the author who wowed me the most is Adrian Tchaikovsky for Children of Time. Runner ups are Mary Doria Russell for The Sparrow, Marie Brennan for A Natural History of Dragons, and Paolo Bacigalupi for The Windup Girl. I also changed the winner for last year (I do that sometimes). Here is last year’s announcement.

Here are all the winners and runner ups…

Year Winner Runner ups
2017 Adrian Tchaikovsky Mary Doria Russell Marie Brennan Paolo Bacigalupi
2016 Claire North Ken Liu Erin Morgenstern Hal Clement
2015 Charles Stross Brian Herbert & Kevin J. Anderson    
2014 Douglas Preston Peter F. Hamilton Carrie Vaughn Christopher Moore
2013 Iain M. Banks Sarah Zettel Michael Swanwick Jo Walton
2012 Alastair Reynolds Joanne Bertin Ken Grimwood Gregory Maguire
2011 Robin Hobb Audrey Niffenegger Richard Adams George R. R. Martin
2010 Clifford D. Simak Yves Meynard Tim Powers Harry Harrison
2009 Dan Simmons Peter S. Beagle Ray Bradbury  
2008 Connie Willis David Mack Jeanne Cavelos John Scalzi
2007 Vernor Vinge James Morrow    
2006 Edward Willett Elizabeth Kostova    
2005 Stephen Baxter Sean Russell Christopher L. Bennett  
2004 Karin Lowachee Peter Watts Adam Roberts Jasper Fforde
2003 Neal Stephenson Ted Chiang Stanislaw Lem Candas Jane Dorsey
2002 Karl Schroeder      
2001 Jim Munroe Nalo Hopkinson    
2000 Charles de Lint J. Gregory Keyes Kurt Vonnegut Josepha Sherman
& Susan Shwartz
1999 Robert Charles Wilson Kim Stanley Robinson L. Sprague de Camp  

This entry was posted on Thursday, December 28th, 2017 at 4:57 pm and is filed under My thoughts. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply