Author discovery of the year

Here’s an update to this list. The big winner this year is Becky Chambers for The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. Runner ups are Matt Haig for How to Stop Time, Mur Lafferty for Six Wakes, David Marusek for Counting Heads, and David A. Goodman for The Autobiography of James T. Kirk.

Year Winner Runner ups
2018 Becky Chambers Matt Haig Mur Lafferty David Marusek David A. Goodman
2017 Adrian Tchaikovsky Mary Doria Russell Marie Brennan Paolo Bacigalupi  
2016 Claire North Ken Liu Erin Morgenstern Hal Clement Emily St. John Mandel
2015 Charles Stross Brian Herbert & Kevin J. Anderson Tony Daniel    
2014 Douglas Preston Peter F. Hamilton Carrie Vaughn Christopher Moore William Goldman
2013 Iain M. Banks Sarah Zettel Michael Swanwick Jo Walton John Varley
2012 Alastair Reynolds Joanne Bertin Ken Grimwood Gregory Maguire Maureen F. McHugh
2011 Robin Hobb Audrey Niffenegger Richard Adams George R. R. Martin David Brin
2010 Clifford D. Simak Yves Meynard Tim Powers Harry Harrison Neil Gaiman
2009 Dan Simmons Peter S. Beagle Ray Bradbury Michael Crichton Greg Cox
2008 Connie Willis David Mack Jeanne Cavelos John Scalzi Megan Whalen Turner
2007 Vernor Vinge James Morrow      
2006 Edward Willett Elizabeth Kostova Jeffrey Lang    
2005 Stephen Baxter Sean Russell Christopher L. Bennett Michael A. Martin & Andy Mangels  
2004 Karin Lowachee Peter Watts Adam Roberts Jasper Fforde  
2003 Neal Stephenson Ted Chiang Stanislaw Lem Candas Jane Dorsey Scott Mackay
2002 Karl Schroeder        
2001 Jim Munroe Nalo Hopkinson      
2000 Charles de Lint J. Gregory Keyes Kurt Vonnegut Josepha Sherman
& Susan Shwartz
David R. George III
1999 Robert Charles Wilson Kim Stanley Robinson L. Sprague de Camp Phyllis Gotlieb  
1998 Robert J. Sawyer Julie E. Czerneda James Alan Gardner Tanya Huff  

This entry was posted on Thursday, January 3rd, 2019 at 7:16 pm and is filed under My thoughts. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply