KW Symphony’s “Live by Request”

I attended the KW Symphony’s concert “Live by Request: Music from the Stage & Screen.” Like the last time they did this, they allowed the audience to vote on songs on their cell phones.

Here’s the program:

  • Hooray for Hollywood — Williams
  • Semper Fidelis March — Sousa
    • from The Shape of Water, among other things
  • Phantom of the Opera — Webber
  • Adventures on Earth — John Williams
    • from E.T.
  • Across the Stars — John Williams*
    • from Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones
  • Les Misérables
  • The Avengers — Alan Silvestri
  • The Hope Suite & Imperial Suite — Michael Giacchino
    • from Rogue One
  • The Sea Hawk Suite — Erich Korngold
  • Halo (video game theme)
  • Raiders March — John Williams
    • from Raiders of the Lost Ark
  • Schindler’s List — John Williams
    • violin solo by Jung Tsai
  • Singin’ in the Rain*
  • Ride of the Valkyries — Wagner
    • from Bugs Bunny
  • Chariots of Fire — Vangelis
  • The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring Suite — Howard Shore

*Two pieces were accompanied by dancers from the Carousel Dance Company.

The audience didn’t always go with my choice, but it was all great music. The standouts were from E.T., Star Wars, and The Lord of the Rings. John Williams was well represented among the pieces.

There wasn’t much music I didn’t already know. One piece I didn’t know was “The Sea Hawk Suite” and I wasn’t familiar with its composer, Erich Korngold. The piece was a revelation — I’m going to be looking into this composer. The conductor indicated that Korngold was a precursor to John Williams.

John Morris Russell was the conductor — he did a tremendous job, as always. He mentioned that it’s not every orchestra that does a program like this — as far as he knew, Boston Pops was the only other one that’s done it.

It was a fabulous concert.

I previously discussed the KW Symphony’s concert “The Four Seasons.”

This entry was posted on Saturday, April 27th, 2019 at 11:15 pm and is filed under Reviews of music. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply