The Doors of Eden

{5/5} “There were places you did not go casually that could transform you or vanish you away. There were valleys where monsters might brush your elbow, from the other side of a divide incomprehensible to the human mind. There were clawed tracks that led off in directions they had no name for, into impossible distances as though whole worlds were held within the cracks of a cliff.”

The Doors of Eden by Adrian Tchaikovsky, published in 2020

Lee and Mal are on the hunt for monsters. When they see a half bird-half human creature in a video, they track down the farm where the video was taken. When they reach it, the farmer is nowhere to be seen — but there are some suspiciously slaughtered sheep. When they go looking for the farmer, hey find some standing stones — and a portal to another Earth where evolution took a different path.

This is one of the best novels ever written. Fans of Baxter’s Evolution and Sawyer’s Hominids will find delights on every page.

It combines biological science fiction with the fantasy of a portal on our Earth that leads to another Earth — to form something new. Not only is it a gripping story, it’s full of stunning speculation.

I’ve read 3 books by Tchaikovsky. I previously reviewed Children of Ruin.

This entry was posted on Wednesday, February 24th, 2021 at 4:20 pm and is filed under Reviews of books. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply