Author discovery of the year

2013 was a great year of reading for me, and in particular a great year of discovering new authors. The winner of my author discovery of the year is Iain M. Banks. I read three of his books, including the brilliant¬†The Player of Games. Runner ups are Sarah Zettel for A Sorceror’s Treason, Michael Swanwick for Bones of the Earth, and Jo Walton for Tooth and Claw. Further runner ups are John Varley,¬†Dave Galanter, Una McCormack, and Theodore Sturgeon. I’ve also changed my mind about the winner from last year. Here is last year’s post.

Here are all the winners and runner ups…

Year Winner Runner ups
2013 Iain M. Banks Sarah Zettel Michael Swanwick Jo Walton
2012 Alastair Reynolds Joanne Bertin Ken Grimwood Gregory Maguire
2011 Robin Hobb Audrey Niffenegger Richard Adams George R. R. Martin
2010 Clifford D. Simak Yves Meynard Tim Powers Harry Harrison
2009 Dan Simmons Peter S. Beagle Ray Bradbury
2008 Connie Willis David Mack Jeanne Cavelos John Scalzi
2007 Vernor Vinge James Morrow
2006 Edward Willett Elizabeth Kostova
2005 Stephen Baxter Sean Russell Christopher L. Bennett
2004 Karin Lowachee Peter Watts Adam Roberts Jasper Fforde
2003 Neal Stephenson Ted Chiang Stanislaw Lem Candas Jane Dorsey
2002 Karl Schroeder
2001 Jim Munroe Nalo Hopkinson
2000 Charles de Lint J. Gregory Keyes Kurt Vonnegut Josepha Sherman
& Susan Shwartz
1999 Robert Charles Wilson Kim Stanley Robinson L. Sprague de Camp

This entry was posted on Tuesday, January 7th, 2014 at 8:05 pm and is filed under My thoughts. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply